The Infamous Pumpkin Beer

It’s now autumn (YEA!) and with that comes everything pumpkin. A lot of beer companies have their Oktoberfest specials out and a lot of fall-inspired seasonal flavors, and I love it! Everything about autumn makes me incredibly happy – the cooler weather, the crispness in the air, the slight breeze in the evening, sweaters, crunching of leaves when you walk across the yard, and most of all, pumpkins everywhere!

So that brings us to pumpkin beer. I’ve always been a fence sitter about pumpkin beer. Every year I buy some, all excited about fall, and it’s never a good experience. My mother decided to try some recently, and she is not a beer drinker at all… which means I acquired the remaining bottles. Let’s be honest here, pumpkin beer isn’t for someone who casually decides, “Arbor Mist isn’t doing it for me. I should try something different. Oh, look! Pumpkin beer!”

I decided to try this beer during the night of the presidential debate. I needed to drink a lot – and quickly – to survive that 90 minutes, but in that time, I decided that I (surprisingly) liked this pumpkin beer.

This pumpkin ale has a nice amber color. It’s fairly light and mild. It’s not too pumpkin-y. I’ve had a few in the past that were too overbearing. It’s pretty much exactly what I expected and would want in a pumpkin beer. This one has a rather spicy, pumpkin-y aftertaste. It’s a bit lighter than my usual preference and has a slight crisp, citrus flavor, but it’s not too bad.

Rating: 3.5/5.0 Stars

Name: “America’s Original Pumpkin Ale”

Brewery: Buffalo Bill’s Brewery

Location: Seattle, Washington

P.S. I also decided while stomping around in my kitchen in bunny slippers and every warm article of clothing I own (50 degrees in Austin, Texas is freezing), that I should make some chili. So added some of this beer to it, so we’ll see how that goes. I’ll add an update later with the verdict.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

