Texas Craft Beer Festival

On Saturday I went to the Texas Craft Beer Festival in Austin, Texas.  The set up was pretty interesting.  They gave us a small tasting cup (4 oz.) with six tickets, each beer costing one ticket (unless stated otherwise on their giant signs above their tents — more on the signs later).  It made for an interesting afternoon.  Because I tried five or six different beers, I’m going to review each one this week, starting with my absolute least favorite: Commercial Suicide.

There was only one beer at the festival that I absolutely hated. HATED.  I didn’t even drink it.  I actually poured it out.  And nobody stopped me.

After a bit of research, I realized that I had tried a different beer from this same brewery in the past and also hated that one. The beer at the festival was called Commercial Suicide.    The company is called Jester King Craft Brewery.  I LOVE their style and their beer names.  And I fall for that every time.  They’re clearly not the brewery for me, though.

The Commercial Suicide is a darker beer (not quite DARK but darker than an amber) that is supposed to be a traditional ale with a few twists… but it’s sour.  I didn’t know there was such thing as sour beer until discussing this particular drink with some friends and friends of friends. I had previously tried the Black Metal (which is a farmhouse imperial stout), and I thought a very similar thought.  Something just seemed… well… off. It was really strong, kind of tangy and sour, and just generally unappealing. I’m not sure if this beer was supposed to taste this way or if I’m not a fan of it.  Either way, not good.

Rating: 0.5/5.0 stars (it gets half a star for the name)

Name: Commercial Suicide

Brewery: Jester King Craft Brewery

Location: Austin, Texas

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

