Texas Craft Beer Festival – Rogtoberfest

Rogness Brewing Company is a local brewery that I really, really like. They have some great beers and some really nice folks who run the place, too. Their “Rogtoberfest” beer was my second favorite at the beer festival.

It was very smooth and not too heavy, but it wasn’t really light or too crisp, either. It was actually the second beer I tasted at the festival. The first beer I had was a coffee stout, so I was very surprised that this didn’t seem shocking after something really rich and dark.  It was really mellow and nothing too crazy, which was nice.

I looked at their website about this beer, and it says that this beer is the first commercially produced Oktoberfest to use “Smaragd hops”.  Because I’m still very new to this, I have no idea what that means, but that sounds interesting. I’ve tried to do a tiny bit of research, and  apparently it’s a relatively new kind of hops that was developed in Germany, but I didn’t find out many details.  If anyone out there has any sort of input on this, please let me know.  I’m curious.

Anyway, this is definitely a beer I’m going to look for the next time I’m out.

Rating: 4.5/5.0

Name:  Rogtoberfest

Brewery: Rogness Brewing Company

Location: Austin, Texas

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Texas Craft Beer Festival – Rogtoberfest

  1. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this write-up and the rest of the site
    is really good.

Leave a Reply

