More Beer Fest – Black Thunder

Austin Beerworks had the best sign at the festival.

Yeah, those are skittles.

It’s the main reason why I tried their beer.  I’m a sucker for unicorns. The beer that I tried, however, was just okay. It was a dark beer, but not as heavy as I expected from a name like “Black Thunder”.   It’s  a German Schwarz, which apparently just means it’s a German dark lager.  They described it as, “If a stout and a pilsner had a lovechild.”

I drank about half of it, got bored, tossed it, and went to the next booth.  It was not very memorable.  (It probably didn’t help that I tried it towards the end of the festival…) It wasn’t undrinkable by any means, but it certainly wasn’t that great.  So, basically what I’m saying is I tried their beer, it was okay, and the only thing I remember being excited about was the sign.

Rating: 2.75/5.0 stars

Name:  Black Thunder

Brewery: Austin Beerworks

Location: Austin, Texas

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

