Austin Beer Week!

Austin is amazing and has its own beer week. This year it’s from October 20th through the 28th. Every day this week has been packed with beer events at bars and breweries all around town.  Today I went to Independence Brewery in southeast Austin.

I tried two beers while I was there. The first was the Austin Amber.  I’ve had this beer before, but it was bottled (found in HEB’s beer section), and in the past I thought it was pretty good.  I have to be in the mood for an amber beer, though.  I think what I’ve discovered so far is that I’m not a big fan of super hoppy beer.  I don’t like it if it has an overly flowery or grassy flavor.  That being said, it was a bit too much for me this time. I’m not sure if it was just this batch, but it wasn’t my favorite.  It had a really nice color, though.

IMG_0814

Rating: 3.5/5.0 stars
Name: Austin Amber
Brewery: Independence Brewing Company
Location: Austin, Texas

Once I managed to down that one, we moved on to a more serious option: the Convict Hill Oatmeal Stout. Yep. That worked. It had a really rich flavor and was really smooth, kind of creamy. It was a little heavy, but it is an oatmeal stout, so that’s kind of expected. My friend tasted it and was definitely not her thing. She said it was more like a meal and less of a drink. I was totally okay with that.

IMG_0810

Rating: 4.6/5.0 stars
Name: Convict Hill Oatmeal Stout
Brewery: Independence Brewing Company
Location: Austin, Texas

Also, not entirely beer related, but there were a few food trailers there. We tried the meat pies at Boomerang’s, and they were REALLY good.

IMG_0812
This was their Bootlegger Steak and Cheese. I HIGHLY recommend it. Unless you’re trying to be on a low carb diet like I am… then try it anyway but pretend you didn’t. Anyway, it had steak, onions, cheese and a gravy that was made with Independence’s Bootlegger Brown Ale. Two thumbs up.

*Update:  Unfortunately this was the only event I was able to attend during Austin Beer Week.  It’s definitely something I’m going to schedule in better next year, and I definitely recommend it. There are a lot of great specials and different beers available at awesome venues around town.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

