Shaking Things Up a Bit

I was handed a Lonestar the other day. And I actually drank it.

Now, that may not mean much to any of you out there, but to me, it was a first. I normally HATE light beer of any kind. In fact, I have been known to be “that girl” at parties who insists on playing beer pong with her own beer.

But it occurred to me the other day that I have reached a point in my beer adventures where I feel like I have a pretty good idea of what beer I know I like.  I like stouts. Cream stouts, milk stouts, oatmeal stouts, coffee stouts, CHOCOLATE STOUTS. I like beer that isn’t too hoppy or bitter. I feel like I might be repeating the same thing over and over (which is usually, “OMG this is great and dark and chocolatey/coffee-y/amazing”). So over the next few weeks I’m going to throw in a few educational posts along with a few posts from Pinthouse Pizza that I still haven’t finished yet, and – dare I say it – start branching out past my comfort zone. We’ll see what happens. 

Are there light beers I can drink without making The Beer Face? Is it possible for me to not be a jerk at parties and drink what some (boring) folks call “normal beer”? Can I down an IPA without wanting to throw it on the floor?  We’ll find out soon enough.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Shaking Things Up a Bit

  1. michael

    Do you use any apps to log your beers like brewski.me? you should!

    • I’ve only very recently started using Untapped (my username is danielle1117 if anyone wants to add me as a friend). I will definitely check out brewski.me, though. Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. Val

    I also tend to prefer dark beers, but decided to learn to love (tolerate) hops last year. It was a slow acclimation, but I will order IPAs on purpose now! Unless there’s a milk stout available.

Leave a Reply

