Pinthouse Pizza Part II

March was insanely busy with SXSW and a few other events, so I’m a bit behind on posts. BUT I’m getting a new tablet soon, so hopefully that’ll make blogging much easier on me. Anyway, back to the Pinthouse Pizza adventure… There were four other beers that I tried in addition to the others I recently posted about.

Pinthouse Pizza - pint night!

1. Bully! Porter
I did not like this beer very much. It was very bitter/had too much hops for my taste. The IPA guy loved it. It just wasn’t really my thing. The IBU rating (which is a new discovery for me, but I’ll go into that in a different post) is a 49, which is a bit too high for me. I wouldn’t recommend this one.

Rating: 2.9/5.0 stars
Name: Bully! Porter
Brewery: Boulevard Brewing Company
Location: Kansas City, Missori

2. (512) Cascabel Cream Stout
This is such a good beer! (512) Brewing Company is one of my favorite breweries in town. This beer was very smooth and creamy, and also chocolatey and coffee-ish. It was also really sweet. An interesting note about this beer is that it is brewed with Guajillo chiles. I don’t recall noticing any obvious heat when I tried this beer, so it’s a subtle addition. My notes from that night only say, “YESSSSSSSSSSS,” so I highly recommend it.

Rating: 4.7/5.0 stars
Name: Cascabel Cream Stout
Brewery: (512) Brewing Company
Location: Austin, Texas

3. Deep Ellum’s Darkest Hour
This beer is a rye imperial stout, and it is also one of Deep Ellum’s specialty beers that has a limited release. Interestingly, the name is in reference to the shortest day of the year; Deep Ellum says it’s brewed to mark the winter solstice. This beer was actually quite bright and citrusy for being as dark as it is. It’s also really strong. It had hints of dark chocolate and was a bit bitter. Overall, it was a pretty solid beer.

Rating: 3.9/5.0 stars
Name: Darkest Hour
Brewery: Deep Ellum Brewing Company
Location: Dallas, Texas

4. The Admiral
This was one of the beers that Pinthouse Pizza brews. There really isn’t any information on it online anywhere, and you can only get it at Pinthouse Pizza. I wasn’t entirely sure how to feel about this one. It was very strong, and a bit bitter. It didn’t really leave much of an impression except it wasn’t smooth at all compared to the other beers that I had. My general response was “meh”.

Rating: 3.5/5.0 stars
Name: The Admiral
Brewery: Pinthouse Pizza Brewpub
Location: Austin, Texas

Leave a comment

Filed under Beer reviews

Leave a Reply

